If you've enabled and created multiple sections in your course, you'll most likely have different students in each section. This means you'll need to assign students to a section, unless you invited them to a specific section in your course.
Once you've invited your students, you'll be able to assign them to a section. You can also assign instructors to a section in a course (if you've invited another instructor who will be teaching a section of the course).
Assigning Students to a Section
To assign students to a section, start by navigating to your course home page and clicking the Roster tab.
Select which students you want to want to enroll in a section by clicking the circles next to their names. Click More from the bottom action bar, then click Change Section.
A window will pop up listing the sections in your course. Click the checkbox next to the section you want, then click Apply. To remove the selected student(s) from all sections, click Apply without selecting a section.
Clicking Apply will update the students' section and close the pop-up window.
To filter the roster by section, type the section name in the Search Bar. You can also click the arrows next to the Section column of the table to sort the roster by section.
You can also enter names and emails in the search bar, as well as sort by those columns.
And you're done! Once you've assigned students to sections in your course, you'll have the option to set start and end dates for assignments by section.
Assigning Instructors to Sections
Assigning instructors to sections follows the same steps as assigning students. Open the Roster, and make sure you've updated the Role filter to show instructors.
Click Role
Select Instructor from the dropdown menu
Click Apply
To show students and instructors, click Role, and then Clear All.
Select the instructor(s) whose sections you want to change, then open the section-list window. You can select as many sections as you like, or leave them unchecked to remove the instructor from all sections. When you're done, click Apply.
An instructor can be enrolled in many sections, but a student can only be enrolled in one.
Clicking Apply will update the instructors' sections and close the pop-up window.








