Skip to main content

Syncing Data with Google Classroom

How to sync course rosters, assignments and grades with Google Classroom

Written by Ryan Burke

Connecting your Course

To connect your Google Classroom course to your Lingco course, first click on Edit Course on the right sidebar in Lingco from your course dashboard.

Scroll down the page and click on Authorize Google Classroom and complete the authorization process (if you haven't connected Google Classroom to Lingco in the past). If you've used our Google Classroom integration in the past, this button will likely say Connect Courses.

Once Google Classroom has been authorized, you'll see a list of your available courses to connect. You're also able to search for a specific course using the search bar. Find your course in the list and then click Connect.

Once your course is connected, click Save in the window, then scroll up to the top of the edit course page and click Save again.

NOTE: You'll need to click Save twice!

Syncing Rosters

Before transferring data, you'll need to sync your Google Classroom and Lingco rosters. To do this, click on Roster on the right sidebar in Lingco, then click +Add/Invite to Course, then click the Sync with Google Classroom button.

This will also send email invites to all of your students at once. If students can't receive emails from us, you should copy and paste your unique course share link and post it in Google Classroom.

Enrolling Students in your Lingco course

Your students will then click the button in the invite email (or click the share link) to create their account and enroll in your course!

IMPORTANT: Your students need to click the Google button on the Lingco account registration/login page and use their school Google account to create their Lingco account. This ensures they're using the correct email, allows them to skip the account confirmation process and makes it easier for them to log in to Lingco in the future.

If students don’t click on the invite email we send them (or the unique share link) to join your course, they’ll still be able to enroll a different way. Once you share an assignment with Google Classroom, your students will also be able to click the assignment, which will allow them to create (or log in) to their Lingco account - this will also enroll them in your course! They'll still need to click the Google button on the account registration/login page and use their school Google account.

Sharing Assignments

Once you’ve assigned content in your Lingco course and configured the assignment settings, you’ll be able to share Lingco assignments with Google Classroom. Clicking the Share with Classroom button will automatically create an equivalent assignment in Google Classroom with the same due date and number of points.

Students will then be able to click the link in the assignment in Google Classroom, which takes them directly to Lingco so they can complete it!

Syncing Grades

Once an assignment has been shared and students have completed it, you can click the Sync with Classroom button to send the grades to your Google Classroom gradebook. You can click this button as many times as needed (e.g., if a student submits work late, you can click this again to update their grade in the Google Classroom gradebook).

When we send grades to Google Classroom, we send them as a percentage. So, if you adjust the rules of the assignment like the number of points, make it pass/fail, etc. the assignment should adapt accordingly.

Common Errors

I shared the assignment but I don't see it in Google Classroom

If no grading category was set (or if we didn't find a matching one in Google Classroom), then Google Classroom places it in the first assignment category that it finds. The Google Classroom assignment will have the exact same name as the Lingco assignment.

I see the assignment in Google Classroom, but I don't see my students' grades after syncing

Verify that your roster is checked. Do this by clicking the +Add/Invite to Course button on the Lingco Roster page and then click Sync with Google Classroom again. When you sync the roster, we look for a match for each student and store their Google ID in Lingco. If this step doesn't happen, we won't be able to assign a grade for a student and they will be skipped. If your roster is up to date, you'll see the image below pop up.

A default late policy is applied to every course in the system to match the existing behavior of getting a 0 after any amount of time submitted late. You can change that behavior in the course settings to only give a certain markdown either once, every day, or every hour late until they get to the minimum markdown.

Did this answer your question?