Connecting Courses
To connect your Schoology course to Lingco, go to the Course Dashboard and click Edit Course.
Scroll down the page and click on Authorize Schoology and complete the authorization process (if you haven't connected Schoology to Lingco in the past). If you have connected Schoology to Lingco in the past, this button will likely say Connect Courses.
Once you complete the authorization workflow, you'll be able to connect your schoology courses to Lingco. Note that you should only connect the equivalent courses (Schoology French 102 to Lingco French 102). For other courses such as French 101, those should be connected in the Lingco French 101 Course.
If you have sections enabled in Lingco, you can map your Schoology sections to Lingco sections (students in section 1 of Schoology will be enrolled in section 1 of Lingco).
After your classes are connected, click Save in the window and then click Save at the top of the Edit Course page.
Syncing Course Rosters & Enrolling Students
Next, navigate to the Course Roster and click +Add/ Invite To Course. You'll now be able to sync your Lingco roster with your Schoology roster.
This works by matching the emails of students in your Lingco course with the emails of students in your Schoology course. Students who are in your Schoology course but not your Lingco course will receive an email invitation to join your Lingco course. Note that in order for this to work, Schoology must have the emails of your students on record. If this is not the case, reach out to our support and we may be able to work with you to match the students based on the student id.
Students will click on the ‘Lingco Classroom’ tab on the left side nav in your Schoology course to directly access Lingco from Schoology.
The first time students click the Lingco Classroom tab, it may ask them to create a one-time failsafe password (just in case they log in the traditional way at any point in the future - by going to our login page and using their email and password to login). Once they do that, it'll take them directly to Lingco. They’ll click the ‘Join Now’ button on the banner at the top of the page in Lingco to enroll in your course.
Every subsequent time they click the Lingco Classroom tab, it'll take them directly to Lingco - it will not prompt them to log in or do anything.
Sharing Assigned Content
Once you’ve assigned content in your Lingco course and configured the assignment settings, you’ll be able to share the Lingco assignment with Schoology by clicking 'Share with Schoology'. This will automatically create the Lingco assignment in the 'Materials' tab in your Schoology course with the same due date and point value. Students will be able to click the 'view on Lingco' hyperlink to directly access the Lingco assignment in our platform and complete it!
Syncing Grades with Schoology
Once your students have completed the assignment, you can click the ‘Sync with Schoology’ button to automatically send their grades directly to your Schoology gradebook. You can click this button as many times as needed (e.g., if a student submits work late, you can click this again to update their grade in the Schoology gradebook).
Sharing Assignments & Syncing Grades (V1)
To sync and assignment and its grades with Schoology, navigate to the assignment and click Share as Graded Assignment in the grading panel. This will create an assignment in your Schoology class with the same due date and point value. You'll be able to find it under the 'materials' tab in your Schoology course.
Once the assignment has been created, you can click Sync Grades with Schoology button, which will send your current grades for that assignment to the corresponding Schoology assignment. You can click this button as many times as needed.
Common Errors
I see the assignment in Schoology, but I don't see my students' grades after syncing
Verify that your roster is checked. When you sync the roster, we look for a match for each student and store their Schoology user ID in Lingco. If this step doesn't happen, we won't be able to assign a grade for a student and they will be skipped. If your roster is up to date, you'll see the image below pop up.
A default late policy is applied to every course in the system to match the existing behavior of getting a 0 after any amount of time submitted late. You can change that behavior in the course settings to only give a certain markdown either once, every day, or every hour late until they get to the minimum markdown.
















