Accessing Lingco via Schoology
Click on the Lingco Classroom LTI 1.3 tab on the left side navigation in your Schoology course to access Lingco.
If you don't have an account yet, you'll be taken to the account registration page to finish creating it. Your name and email used in your Schoology instance should be pre-filled. You'll then select/verify your school after clicking 'Continue Registration'.
Once you finish creating your account, you'll be brought to a page that looks like the image below. If you already have a Lingco account, clicking the Lingco Classroom LTI 1.3 tab in Schoology will launch you directly to this page.
Setting up your Course
Select a template course to use for your new course, or select from one of your existing Lingco courses, if you have any. You can change the language filter and you can also search for templates and courses.
We recommend using one of our National courses because it creates your own copy of the National course with all of the units and content, which saves you a ton of time! All units and content are already organized for you and align with the textbook, workbook, lesson plans, etc. Once your course is created, you'll have the option to remove any units or content you don't want from your course.
After selecting a course, follow the steps to set up your course. If you selected an existing course, you'll have the option to connect it as-is or create a copy to use. When finished, click Create and Connect.
You may be prompted to authorize the first time you do this. Check 'I am human' and click Approve.
Lingco Classroom will then connect your course and sync the rosters. Click Proceed to My Course to go to your new course dashboard.
'Checking' Rosters
From your course home page, click on Roster on the right side bar, then click on +Add/Invite to Course
Click the ‘Sync with Schoology’ button to ‘check’ your roster to ensure all students have been added.
Your students will be able to click the Lingco Classroom LTI 1.3 tab in Schoology to enroll in your course.
You’ll be able to track student enrollment progress on the Roster page in Lingco.
Enrolling Students
Students will click on the ‘Lingco Classroom LTI 1.3’ tab on the left side nav in your Schoology course to directly access your Lingco course.
If students don't have a Lingco account created when they first click the Lingco Classroom LTI 1.3 tab, they'll be prompted to finish creating their account with a one-time failsafe password - just in case they ever try to log in the traditional way (on our login page with their email and password). Once they finish creating their account, they’ll be enrolled in your course.
Every subsequent time they click the Lingco Classroom LTI 1.3 tab in Schoology, they'll be taken directly to your Lingco course - they will not be prompted to login or anything.
Sharing Assigned Content
Once you’ve assigned content in your Lingco course and configured the assignment settings, you’ll be able to share the Lingco assignment with Schoology by clicking 'Share with Schoology'.
This will automatically create the Lingco assignment in the 'Materials' tab in your Schoology course with the same due date and point value. Students will be able to click the 'view on Lingco' hyperlink to directly access the Lingco assignment in our platform and complete it!
Syncing Grades
Once your students have completed the assignment, you can click the ‘Sync with Schoology’ button to automatically send their grades directly to your Schoology gradebook. You can click this button as many times as needed (e.g., if a student submits work late, you can click this again to update their grade in the Schoology gradebook).
Common Errors
I see the assignment in Schoology, but I don't see my students' grades after syncing
Verify that your roster is checked. When you sync the roster, we look for a match for each student and store their Schoology user ID in Lingco. If this step doesn't happen, we won't be able to assign a grade for a student and they will be skipped. If your roster is up to date, you'll see the image below pop up.
A default late policy is applied to every course in the system to match the existing behavior of getting a 0 after any amount of time submitted late. You can change that behavior in the course settings to only give a certain markdown either once, every day, or every hour late until they get to the minimum markdown.









